News From Our Blog

For Your Health: Check the Air Quality Index

If you plan to spend time outdoors, check the Air Quality Index (AQI) for your location. If the air quality is unhealthy, try to reduce the time you spend outside, or change your plans altogether.

Being exposed to polluted air can cause health problems, especially in children, older adults, and those who have heart or lung conditions. 

Even if you’re healthy, you may experience coughing, throat irritation, and shortness of breath when exposed to polluted air. Over time, repeated exposure can trigger asthma and other respiratory diseases.


The Air Quality Index, which is updated daily, measures five major air pollutants:

  • Ground-level ozone
  • Particle pollution (particulate matter)
  • Carbon monoxide
  • Sulfur dioxide
  • Nitrogen dioxide


There are six AQI levels. Here’s a brief summary of what each level means:

Green - Good (AQI 0-50)
Air quality is satisfactory.

 - Moderate (AQI 51-100)

Air quality is acceptable, but there may be a moderate health concern for very sensitive individuals.

 - Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups (AQI 101-150)
The general public is not likely to be affected, but older adults, children, and those with heart and lung illnesses may experience adverse health effects. 

Red - Unhealthy (AQI 151-200)
Everyone may begin to experience adverse health effects.

Purple - Very Unhealthy (AQI 201-300)
This would trigger a health alert signifying that everyone may experience more serious health effects.

Maroon - Hazardous (AQI greater than 300)
This would trigger a health warning. The entire population is likely to be affected. 

Learn more about the Air Quality Index and find out what you can do to help keep the air clean.  

Read this post in Spanish.

We welcome your comments if you are 13 or older, and hope that our conversations here will be polite. You are responsible for the content of your comments.

We do not discriminate against any views, but may delete any of the following:

  • violent, obscene, profane, hateful, or racist comments
  • comments that threaten or harm the reputation of any person or organization
  • advertisements or solicitations of any kind
  • comments that suggest or encourage illegal activity
  • multiple off-topic posts or repetitive posts that are copied and pasted
  • personal information including, but not limited to, e-mail addresses, telephone numbers, mailing addresses, or identification numbers

In short: be nice and add to the discussion. If you continually violate this policy, we may limit your ability to comment in the future. If you have any questions or comments about this policy, please e-mail us.