News From Our Blog

Nominate Movies for the National Film Registry

The Library of Congress is seeking nominations for the 2012 National Film Registry. 

Under the National Film Preservation Act, the Librarian of Congress names 25 films to the National Film Registry every year. In order for a film to be eligible, it must be at least 10 years old and be culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant. Find out which films made the 2011 list.

Public nominations and input play a key role when the Librarian of Congress and National Film Board consider the final selections for the year. 

Find out how to submit your nominations for the 2012 Film Registry

We welcome your comments if you are 13 or older, and hope that our conversations here will be polite. You are responsible for the content of your comments.

We do not discriminate against any views, but may delete any of the following:

  • violent, obscene, profane, hateful, or racist comments
  • comments that threaten or harm the reputation of any person or organization
  • advertisements or solicitations of any kind
  • comments that suggest or encourage illegal activity
  • multiple off-topic posts or repetitive posts that are copied and pasted
  • personal information including, but not limited to, e-mail addresses, telephone numbers, mailing addresses, or identification numbers

In short: be nice and add to the discussion. If you continually violate this policy, we may limit your ability to comment in the future. If you have any questions or comments about this policy, please e-mail us.